

Lightsources for Africa, the Americas, Asia and Middle East Project Executive Committee: Michele Zema (Chair), Marielle Agbahoungbata, Sekazi Mtingwa, Özgül Öztürk, Sandro Scandolo

https://laaamp.iucr.org



## The African Light Source Foundation

Executive Committee: Simon Connell (Chair), Sekazi Mtingwa, Saphina Biira, Thierry D'Almeida, Tabbetha Dobbins, Seham K. Abdel-Aal, Nkem Khumbah, Brian Masara, Genito Maure, Edward Mitchell, Armindo Mussungo, Prosper Ngabonziza, Lawrence Norris, Tshepo Ntsoane, Ahmadou Wague, Herman Winick

https://www.africanlightsource.org/

## MEMORANDUM OF UNDERSTANDING

## between

## **LAAAMP** and the African Light Source Foundation

WHEREAS, the Light Sources for Africa, the Americas, Asia and Middle East Project (<u>LAAAMP</u>) and the <u>African Light Source</u> Foundation are partnering in order to collaborate on capacity building and fundraising for capacity building related to synchrotron and X-ray training for Africa; and

WHEREAS, <u>LAAAMP</u> exists as a funded project by and under the umbrella of the International Union of Pure and Applied Physics (IUPAP), International Union of Crystallography (IUCr), and Abdus Salam International Centre for Theoretical Physics (ICTP) with the aim of providing opportunities to faculty, senior researchers, postdoctoral scholars, graduate students, staff and undergraduate students at colleges and universities in developing countries to travel to synchrotron facilities; and

WHEREAS, the <u>African Light Source</u> Foundation exists to encourage the positioning of a synchrotron light source on the continent of Africa (the only habitable continent without a synchrotron light source); and

WHEREAS, this agreement covers only matters related to capacity building and fundraising for capacity building; and

WHEREAS, the partners agree to enter into a collaborative agreement whereby the *LAAAMP* will lead in capacity building for the African Light Source project; and

WHEREAS, any original educational materials produced by *LAAAMP* representatives during capacity building efforts (i.e. written content produced for the purpose of training, Web-based training materials, demos, videos and audio content) shall have sole ownership and reuse rights residing with *LAAAMP*; and



Lightsources for Africa, the Americas, Asia and Middle East Project Executive Committee: Michele Zema (Chair), Marielle Agbahoungbata, Sekazi Mtingwa, Özgül Öztürk, Sandro Scandolo

The African Light Source Foundation

Executive Committee: Simon Connell (Chair), Sekazi Mtingwa, Saphina Biira, Thierry D'Almeida, Tabbetha Dobbins, Seham K. Abdel-Aal, Nkem Khumbah, Brian Masara, Genito Maure, Edward Mitchell, Armindo Mussungo, Prosper Ngabonziza, Lawrence Norris, Tshepo Ntsoane, Ahmadou Wague, Herman Winick

https://www.africanlightsource.org/

https://laaamp.iucr.org

WHEREAS, the African Light Source Foundation and the *LAAAMP* agree to partner on joint fundraising opportunities whereby the designated representatives of each partner will stipulate in writing (by memo or email) before said funds are requested, the (i) proportion to allocate each partner, (ii) the account into which the funds are to be deposited, and (iii) stated purpose and use of the funds; and

WHEREAS, each partner's name and logo shall appear on any joint initiatives and shall be removed upon request of the partner's representative; and

WHEREAS, the duration of this agreement shall begin on 1 May 2020 and end on 30 April 2022; with the opportunity to be subject to renewal with or without modification on 1 May 2022 (one day after the prior MOU ending date); and

WHEREAS, the designated points of contact for this agreement shall be Michele Zema (on behalf of the *LAAAMP*) and Simon Connell (on behalf of the African Light Source Foundation); and

WHEREAS, the partners herein would like to enter into this Memorandum of Understanding (MOU) which begins the partnership in capacity building and fundraising for capacity building;

We, the undersigned, have read and agree to abide by the terms of this MOU.

Michala Zama

Chair, LAAAMP Executive Committee

Date\_\_22/04/2020\_\_\_\_

Simon Connel

Director, African Light Source Foundation

Date\_\_\_22/04/2020\_\_\_\_